Advanced Particle Physics-S3

Advanced Particle Physics

Contact: Pr. Mossadek Talby


The course is organized as follows: It begins with a short introduction and overview of elementary particles and fondamental interactions followed by the description of the unit system used in particle physics. After this short introduction, the first chapters deal with (continue and discrete) symmetries and conservation laws and reviews relativistic kinematics of particle interactions and decays. The following chapters represent the main components of this course. We start with the Dirac equation its solutions as free particle Spinors and study their properties and different bilinear froms. It is followed by three important chapters describing electromagnetic, strong and weak interaction and decay processes. In these three chapters the technique used to compute from Feynman diagrams and rules the differential cross sections and decay rates of several scattering and decay processes of elementary particles will be presented and studied in detail. Several concepts and properties will be introduced, studied and used in these three chapters such as "crossing symmetry", "running coupling constant", "Quark mixing" .... In the last two chapters of the course we will first introduce and study the Standard model of particle physics and the Brout-Engler-Higgs mechanism and second we will in one hand review and study the Parton model and on the other hand discuss and study elements of perturbative QCD.


1. D. Griffiths, Introduction to Elementary Particles, John Wiley & Sons (1987),
2. D.H. Perkins, Introduction to High Energy Physics, 4th Edition, Cambridge University. Press (2000),
3. F. Halzen & A.D Martin, Quarks & Leptons, John Wiley & Sons (1984),
4. C.P. Burgess & G.D Moore, The Standard Model: A Primer, Cambridge University Press (2011),
5. M.E. Peskin & D.V. Schroeder, An introduction to Quantum Field Theory, Addison-Wesley Advanced Book Program (1995),
6. J-P. Derendinger, Th´eorie quantique des champs, Presses polytechniques et universitaires romandes (2008)